The Founding of Maryland

The Lord's Baltimore

Historical Figures From Maryland

Maryland's Historical Sites and other Places of Interest

Historical African American Figures From Maryland

History of the State Flag

Great Seal of Maryland

Former Great Seals of Maryland

Official State Symbols

Maryland's County Seals

Maryland's Firsts

Maryland's Governor's 1634 to Present Day

Maryland's County Establishment

Maryland's County Seats

Maryland State Parks and Forests

Maryland's Regions

Maryland's Population

Fort Frederick and the French and Indian War

The Maryland Men Who Signed the Declaration of Independence

The Peggy Stewart

Civil War Battles in Maryland

The Baltimore Colts

Anne Wolseley Calvert

Everything Beatles!

About Famous People!



Government under Restored Proprietary Government


By John T. Marck

1715-1720 - John Hart

Continued to serve as governor after control of the province was returned to Charles, 5th Lord Baltimore.

1720 - Thomas Brooke

Became president by virtue of his seniority when Hart returned to England.

1721-1727 - Charles Calvert

1727-1731 - Benedict Leonard Calvert

1731-1732 - Samuel Ogle

1732-1733 - Charles Calvert, Lord Proprietary

1733-1742 - Samuel Ogle

1742-1747 - Thomas Bladen

1747-1752 - Samuel Ogle

1752-1753 - Benjamin Tasker

Became president of the council on death of Governor Ogle.

1753-1769 - Horatio Sharpe

1769-1776 - Robert Eden

During Eden's absence, Richard Lee governed the province. Lee also governed the province briefly in 1776 after Eden's departure and before the assumption of the government by the convention.


Copyright 1990-2022 by John T. Marck. All Rights Reserved. This article and their accompanying pictures, photographs, and line art, may not be resold, reprinted, or redistributed for compensation of any kind without prior written permission from the author. From Maryland The Seventh State A History, by John T. Marck. Copyright John T. Marck, All Rights Reserved.

A Splendid Time Is Guaranteed For All